Temple run (My first Solo Backpacking – Bangkok Thailand ( Day 2)

(After all the confirmed bookings and flights.  I received a call from my Family in the Philippines that my grandmother was in the ICU. I was in doubt if I should push through with this travel or not. However,  Since my flights and bookings are mostly promos, I cannot cancel nor refund it. So I need to continue my original plan. And YES, my heart was really not on a festive mood to travel. And since I am in Bangkok, at the back of my mind, I’ll just make the most  of it. )

So, it’s the second day in Bangkok. I woke up late. And sad to say I was not able to get the morning tour that i was planning the day before, which was a bum.  Instead of getting another tour which will start around 4pm, I decided to wallow inside my room for a moment and plan on my own tour instead.

After battling with myself whether to take a shower or just sleep the whole afternoon. I choose to shower.

My itinerary was a total mess after not following it. Instead of visiting the malls and exploring Khaosan road. I decided to see the Wats. So I drag myself to take a shower. Prep my things and went out.

And since I am a budget traveler (which I wish I’m not) I took the train From Silom going to the sky train.  When I arrived in the Sky train station I ask for direction where to ride a bus or what I should  be riding going to the Wats. And believe it or not, I wish I did not ask…I  was lost …literally LOST and I have no Idea where to go, since most of the people I ask, either they don’t talk in English or they really don’t understand what I was babbling.

So for 2 hours walking through the streets of Bangkok, and still try my luck to ask on how to get to the Wats, it was no help at all. The hard part is, the signage’s are written in Thai, I was like… Okay. I’ll just get a taxi.

By the way with that perilous journey, I  was able to enjoy the street of Bangkok. Bangkok provides mouth watering tropical fruits , barbeques and some of Thailand’s delicacies are just laid there waiting to be eaten. So, that 2 hours was really not a waste of time at all.

aa.jpg
Some of the street food I encountered. Price range from 10 baht to 20 baht.

After the turmoil I have of being lost.  Thank God for Taxi drivers that don’t take advantage.  I arrived safe and sound near the grand palace. And the taxi only cost me 130 baht, not bad.  I walked my way through the traffic. Took a picture of the vicinity and the 3 elephants in the middle of the road. (note: if you plan to visit the Wats, it would be best if you will just ride a taxi. For one its much faster and easier. Just make sure to advise the driver where you are heading exactly, because sometimes, they do take advantage. And yes, watch out for scams and those tok toks, they are just overrated.) d It was a bitter sweet moment. Walking by myself. Camera in my hands. And watching those groups that are uberly happy. Them taking picture on one another. And it dawn on me … I am Alone. Then again..I am here because I want to be alone. So I tread the street around the wats.

cc.jpg
Outside Grand Palace. Entrance 500 baht.
bb.jpg
Spires of the Infamous Grand palace.

The first place that I visited was the Grand Palace. When I saw how much is the entrance fee I was doubtful if I’ll  pushed through or not. I decided not to go inside since my time was really limited and  I have other wats to explore. And my budget was depreciating. no regrets. After exploring the grounds of Grand Palace. I decided to eat. Yes, I was famished. I stopped on one of the places where most tourist eat.Just walking distance from the Grand palace. And guess what I have for lunch? You got it right. Pad Thai, again. Sorry guys, but I will never get tired of eating Pad thai. hihihi.

dd.jpg
Left to right: Authentic Pad Thai ( 60 baht), Roasted duck (just took a picture) , vendor making freshly squeeze pomegranate (20 baht per bottle)

After taking my lunch. The next Wat  that I was going to visit was Wat pho. Before you reach Wat Pho, your eyes will be entertain by street vendors along the way selling stuff. From souvenirs, knickknacks and street foods. Some of the sale items are some what off. Some sells used combs, glasses, weird looking dolls and some old biscuit box. Not sure if its for a collection or just simply for the sake of selling it.

01.jpg
Left to right: Old books, pendants of all sorts, life like Buddhist statue, Thai deities and gods statue.

(to be continued. more pictures of wats on my next blog..)

Leave a Reply

